Euroleague 2009-10

Posted 12:34 PM by crkota in Labels:
The Euroleague 2009-10 season has begun! This morning, the Euroleague announced the groupings for the ten-game competition this autumn. Naturally, the pools are totally enticing and some great fodder for watercooler discussions for months. (Heck, they’ll have to be.) The groups look like this:

Group A
Regal FC Barcelona Montepaschi Siena Cibona Zagreb Fenerbahce Ulker Zalgiris Kaunas ASVEL Lyon Villeurbanne

Group B
Olympiacos Piraeus Partizan Belgrade Unicaja Efes Pilsen Istanbul Lietuvos Rytas (qualifying team TBD)

Group C
CSKA Moscow Tau Ceramica Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv Virtus Roma Union Olimpija Ljubljana (qualifying team TBD)
Group D
Panthinaikos Athens Real Madrid Armani Jeans Milano Asseco Prokom BC Khimki Moscow region EWE Baskets Oldenburg

Over the next few days, will take a more in-depth look at each group, team by team, but for now … Oh, the questions! Oh, the speculation! Which bunch could become known as the “Group of Death,” A or C? How much damage can Zalgiris Kaunas do against the generally bigger teams in Group A? How much would Greek fans dig seeing either Maroussi Athens or Aris Thessaloniki – the teams meet in the first round of the qualifying tournament and draw the winner of Le Mans-ALBA Berlin – in that Group B with Olympiacos?

And finally, how long is it before the season starts?

0 comment(s) to... “Euroleague 2009-10”


Post a Comment